Clarkson Controversy What can the BBC do?

I realise I’m a little late to the party here but I thought id just throw my thoughts in. Jeremy Clarkson famed for being the outspoken host of Top Gear has been suspended by the BBC after a ‘fracas’ with producer Oisim Tymon.

Jeremy Clarkson

First of all I think the interesting thing is that Clarkson himself reported the ‘fracas’ himself not Tymon, this we can only hope will work in his favour. Clarkson has always been the outspoken kind of guy but he has said in the past the only person he’s punched is Piers Morgan, for obvious reasons. This brings me on to my next point. Something else must have happened during the day for Clarkson to snap over no hot food. It just doesn’t make sense, a non-violent man punches someone over a steak. I understand the BBC investigation is on going but I just wish we new more of what went on in that hotel.

So what will the BBC do, well the way I see it they have three options, 1 they fire Clarkson and cancel the biggest show on the planet and allow other companies to hire Clarkson. That is like saying I have two feet, I’m going to shoot myself in that foot and then tread on a land mine with the other. The BBC already saw collapsing viewing figures just this week with the cancelling of Top Gear, meaning they would be likely to lose more if it continues this way. Option 2 is they let Clarkson carry on as is and do nothing. This however would result in Tymon suing the BBC and Clarkson for everything they have. Not a nice outcome for anyone except Tymon there. Then we have option 3. This I believe is what they should go for, allow Top Gear to run out the rest of the series as is, then organise one last show in an empty Top Gear studio with Clarkson, Hammond and May all putting forward their favourite moments from the show and celebrating it for the marvel that it is. Then close the show with what everyone has been waiting for the Ferrari LaFerrari, McLaren P1 and the Porsche 918 finally racing on the track, bringing a close to the greatest show on earth with the three greatest cars ever made.

This would allow the fans closure whilst still punishing Clarkson for what he did. A win win for everyone in this situation as I see it.

In the meantime please sign this petition to get Clarkson back on Top Gear it may do nothing, but then again it may make the difference. And I’d just like to say thank you to the Top Gear fans we don’t care about the controversies but if you try to take away Top Gear we will come out in force to stop you.

As someone on Twitter said:

“He may be an idiot, but he’s our idiot.”

https://www.change.org/p/bbc-reinstate-jeremy-clarkson

Leave a Reply

